Get Your Motor Running: Marcus I Invitational, 25th Ed., Sat. Aug. 31st @ North Lakes Park, BE THERE!

Yes it’s almost that time again. Calling all HS XC teams!  Marcus I JV Boys-1

It’s just five weeks from the kick-off of the HS Cross Country Season for North Texas and Beyond!

The premier North TX HS cross-country meet, “The” Marcus I Invitational, will be held Saturday morning, August 31st, in Denton, TX @ North Lakes Parkhttp://goo.gl/maps/dkVh

Marcus I V Boys-1

This year marks the 25th Edition of Marcus I, hosted by the Marcus HS Cross Country Marcus I JV Girls-4Program and Boosters. It’s time to “Book It Danno” – get that team reservation in, and get ready to ramble! (Coaches, for Race Info & Details, please visit the Marcus I Invitational – August 31, 2013 page.)

Afterall, Marcus I is so big, so prestigious, it’s got a Roman Numeral assigned to it 😉 and it needs a counterpart (Marcus II, held later in the season).

The last couple years, various Texas State Champion XC teams and individual TX State Champions, Boys and Girls, have started their quest for, or defense of, their Texas State XC titles at Marcus I. This year will be no different.

Marcus I V Girls-8

So, if you want to see some of the best in NTX, the State of TX and perhaps Beyond, stop by to see who “the Levee gonna break” and who “gonna break the Levee!”

Marcus I JV Girls-18

For race start times and a race site parking and course map, go to the Marcus I Invitational – August 31, 2013 page. Please also follow this site’s home page for a preview of the design of the Marcus I Invitational T-Shirt.  So, “Get Your Motor Running!”

To get you psyched up {or out}, start hydrating now and singing your American PIe, lest you find you come up dry on your final drive to the Levee — please don’t run out of gas and die – so get ready:

I started singin’
Bye-bye Miss American Pie
Drove my Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry
Them good ol’ boys were drinkin’ whiskey and rye
And singin’ this’ll be the day that I die
This’ll be the day that I die

http://fivebestlist.blogspot.com/2007/07/five-bestsongs-about-levees.html

Marcus I JV Girls-55

Marcus I JV Boys-20

Marcus I JV Girls-9

     

 

 

As you start to wind down your summer “Hawaiian” vacations, remember runners, fans and volunteers to — “Be There, Aloha!”

Comments?

